Tags

, , , , ,


20120505-231138.jpg

I’ve been pretty ridiculously busy lately because of work, freelancing, exercising, road trips, quickie traveling and my proliferating social life. As a result, my photography has somewhat suffered. I no longer have the hours to wander and find interesting places like I did way back in college, I don’t have the freedom to just ride a bus or enjoy a trip with a friend or two and take off to a random destination for a few days like I did during my nomad year, nor am I living in a particularly inspiring place like I was when I was living in Pasadena. My photography has really taken off recently, but that’s about all I’ve been shooting with my Diana F+. For a long time, this saddened me.

Although that was, until I learned and realized the joys of iPhonography. I’ve been using iPhone for a few years now, but until recently, I never really used the camera for much more than snapping a photo of my food, places I’ve visited or something I wanted to remember later. However, recently I have discovered that the reasonable but considerably low quality (8 MP) of the iPhone’s built-in camera can actually be a feature, rather than a flaw: it can easily synthesize and simulate the cheap, plastic, lomographic cameras that hipsters love to tote and haul around. I am no hipster, but the lomographer and art lover in me does enjoy the weird little creations that my iPhone can produce. Even better are the applications, (some are free but the best ones, those I highly recommend are paid) which allow me to modify photographs I have taken with my camera phone, creating a short-cut for some lomographic effects that are typically rather time-and-energy-consuming in Adobe Photoshop Express. Through a combination of both, I’m planning to start a short photography series of lomographic iPhone photos from my life.

I use a few different applications to achieve different looks for my photos, and I often find myself taking the same picture with different apps to see what each will do.

I love taking photographs. Be it a little flower, a view from the peek of the mountain, a sunny day at the beach, a cup of taho, it doesn’t matter. I just love taking photographs because they serve as memories, well at least to me. Although I’m very much tempted to try to forget all my baggages, not mind my stuff and seize fully the enchanting moment I am in sometimes, I still cannot give up my photography. Because I know that all these things, all these people and places in front of my lens will eventually change, but the photographs I’ve taken will forever remain the same.

It’s true, you know, that saying, a picture is indeed worth a thousand words.

