Tags

, , , , ,


 

I will start my review of the beat my heart skipped on a slightly saucy note: This is the first film in which I have found Romain Duris attractive. And all it took was for him to play a brutally violent real estate collection agent who has a penchant for playing the piano. Bizarre as it may sound, this was a huge revelation for me. anyway, back to the film. It is brilliant. The performances are fantastic, the soundtrack is perfect and the moody cinematography gives the film the dark edge it requires. It also surprises you with beautifully poetic moments between some of the characters that undercuts the film’s overall grittiness. I wasn’t sure how it was going to end and it literally had me on the edge of my seat. See this if you can!

 

P.S. I also recommend Jacques Audiard’s previous film, Sur mes lèvres.

