Tags

, ,


The soft skin is simply a tale of marital infidelity and, unlike François Truffaut’s other films, this theme is approached without a hint of beauty, romance or magic. Truffaut exposes the unravelling of a familial network when lies and betrayal overshadow previous connections. in one sense, this is an ugly film that explores an ugly topic.
I’m a little sad to say that this is probably my least favourite of the films I have seen by Truffaut thus far. robert ingram encapsulates the mood perfectly when he writes that it “is one of truffaut’s bleakest films…shot in grainy black and white, mostly in a decidedly unromanticised Paris, its characters are unremittingly mediocre.” despite all of this I couldn’t help fetishise the 1960s details of the film: the fashion, hairstyles and makeup, the old cars and cameras, and the floral wallpaper in country bed and breakfasts. I should also add that the film has an incredible ending. Whether you choose to sit through the somewhat dull moments that precede it is, of course, entirely up to you.

I also recently watched another truffaut film, Les Deux Anglaises et le Continent, which I really liked.

